Saturday, April 18, 2009

April 8... Found a marble shaped/sized lump in my breast.
April 10...Made a Dr. appt for Monday--a weekend of worry.
April 13... Dr. confirmed, but have to wait till Friday for a mammogram and also for an ultrasound. Results in 24 hrs (that really means Monday when the test is on a Friday), but if there is something there, my Dr will be notified that day. This was the 1st day I've really been upset, had a mini-meltdown in my car in the parking lot. All week long, wondering, what if's... Is it a cyst? Something to just have removed? or worse..... Is it too late already to be 'caught early'? Why did I miss my regularly scheduled mammogram in February? Went home, drank a bottle of Gran Spumanti. A longgggggg week and found it hard to keep my focus at work.
April 17... At the beginning of the mammogram, the nurse was chatty...but then as it went on she grew quieter. I was able to see the pic's within seconds of taking them. Interesting, but of course, I was not able to identify much, but I did see the area where the lump was. The nurses can't tell you anything. I actually started to pass out during one---the breast is really not meant to be manipulated quite like that and for a few seconds the pain was excruciating. Then the nurse said she had to check with the doctor to see if he wanted an additional pic...he did. Hmmm, didn't think that was all that good. Then on to the ultrasound--the nurse said the radiologist was coming in for part of it. Another thing that sounded bad. This nurse was also quieter as the test went on. I could see the monitor and saw the marble size lump was just the tip of a longer area...and a second area that I couldn't/didn't notice. Radiologist came in and watched the monitor and had her 'go here, go there, do this, do that' and did some prodding/poking. So much for 24 hrs for results, my Dr was called immediately after. But it's 4:15 on a Friday afternoon. Went to my car, I was shaking and had another mini-melt down and called those who were waiting to see what I found out. I gave it about 10 minutes and called my Dr, who had left for the day. The nurse said they would schedule the biopsy on Monday. So another weekend of waiting. I had planned on buy some Spumanti on the way home either to be celebratory or 'oh shit'. Bought TWO 'oh shit' bottles of Spumanti on the way home. Stopped at my Mom's, filled her in, stopped at a friends and proceeded to drink both. Funny, I got tipsy, then they fed me (thanks guys--you're great), had the second bottle too, but was stone sober when I got home. I didn't sleep very well, but no hangover either.

No comments: